Skip to content

Gather round and meet ….Kisses and Cross Stitches

August 10, 2009

The Blog: Kisses and Cross Stitches

Blogger’s Name: Lavelle

Location: England

Why We Like Her:We always find something on her blog, which features the most beautiful collection of photos and she is never to busy to throw a kind word our way. We also love her dedication and the fact that she’s always on the lookout for something to inspire us with: I buy a ridiculous amount of magazines every month and soak up every last image, article and editorial, taking notes of things that I like. I read an extensive collection of blogs on a daily basis and am completely addicted to tumblr for finding beautiful images!

Hmmmm, sounds interesting ….I want to hear more:Well, if you want to boost your image collection, Kisses and Cross Stitches is the place to go! The lovely Lavelle has this amazing talent of tracking down the most beautiful and inspirational photos available online. In fact, it was this very trait that inspired her to start her own blog:

“I had been reading several blogs for a while and kept finding new links and adding them to my bookmarks and saving images from them, noting down ideas or interesting things they had posted about until it got to the point I had barely any memory left on my laptop (I’ve actually had to buy a new one because I completely depleted the memory!!). I just thought that it would be easier and a lot more fun to give it a go myself and post all of these images and ideas I had on my very own blog!”

Thank God for that epiphany!

Lavelle describes her blog as “a collection of beautiful, dream like images that inspire me”: I describe her blog as my image bible.

The Lightning Round

….the place where we ask THE hard-hitting, important Life questions that you all need and want to know:

Do you prefer muffins or cupcakes? Oh, I know it’s really cliché at the moment but I LOVE cupcakes! The best form of indulgence is buying an extremely overpriced but beautiful looking cupcake that tastes like heaven.

Your favourite movie quote is? “On September 3rd 1973, at 6:28pm and 32 seconds, a bluebottle fly capable of 14,670 wing beats a minute landed on Rue St Vincent, Montmartre. At the same moment, on a restaurant terrace nearby, the wind magically made two glasses dance unseen on a tablecloth. Meanwhile, in a 5th-floor flat, 28 Avenue Trudaine, Paris 9, returning from his best friend’s funeral, Eugène Colère erased his name from his address book. At the same moment, a sperm with one X chromosome, belonging to Raphaël Poulain, made a dash for an egg in his wife Amandine. Nine months later, Amélie Poulain was born. “

(Otherwise known as the best opening lines of a film. Ever.)

Your most embarrassing moment is? Probably a trip to the local leisure centre when I was about 14. I jumped in the deep end of the swimming pool, bobbed around in the water for a bit, swam to the side and got out before I realised that my bikini top had completely come off and I was exposing myself to everybody. Completely traumatising at that age!!

How do you take your tea? Apparently I am a complete weirdo because I don’t drink tea! I just don’t really like hot drinks- they make me thirsty!!

….personally, I’m ignoring the answer to that last question.

So head down to the next post and take a look at what Lavelle did with this month’s theme, A Modern Twist on a Children’s Story….

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 10:40 am

    Oh, I love your blog!
    I loved this,
    and being able to get to know the bloggers!
    One of my favourite quotes is from Amelie too,!
    Can’t wait for the next post!
    x

  2. August 10, 2009 10:54 am

    I LOVE IT!! ❤

  3. August 10, 2009 1:57 pm

    Oh this is lovely! So nice to come back from my holiday to read this!
    xxx

  4. August 10, 2009 2:28 pm

    hello 🙂

    Yes, I do indeed enjoy taking a turn around my room for there is quite a lot of room 😛

    I like your header for this blog; its lovely. I am going to link this blog to mine. You asked for a list of blogs so here it goes:

    http://www.whatlindsaydid.co.uk/

    http://englishrosedarlingg.blogspot.com/

    http://thestorytellersdiary.blogspot.com/

    If I find more, I shall tell you about them.

    x

  5. Adorably Distracted permalink
    August 10, 2009 2:50 pm

    oh i loved this!!! I’m going to love this “diamond in the rough” project so much! I love finding new blogs that I love!!! Such a great idea and I loved reading about Kisses and Cross stiches

  6. August 10, 2009 5:24 pm

    I loooove her blog!

  7. August 10, 2009 6:24 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE that Amelie quote! It’s one of my absolute favs! XOXO

  8. August 10, 2009 9:18 pm

    I adore the idea behind this blog – well done, and great for picking an England-based blog too! (We tend to get overshadowed 🙂 )

    *part removed by blog author*

    H xx

  9. dustjacket attic permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:37 pm

    Great piece, will be over to check out the site!
    xxx

  10. August 10, 2009 11:13 pm

    Yay! So happy to see the blog up and running! Sounds like a wonderful blog! I’m off to check it out now! Lovely!

    xoxo

  11. August 11, 2009 4:12 am

    what a beautiful post and interview!! so excited to check out her blog 🙂 any blog with lovely images holds a special place in my heart! yay for diamonds being up and running!! xoxo**

  12. August 11, 2009 6:45 am

    Just found your blog from my friend above {Nicole} and excited to find some lovely new blogs! Thanks so much!

  13. August 11, 2009 6:53 am

    *GASPS* She doesn’t drink tea!!!???
    (She obviously hasn’t tried some Lyon tea then :p)
    Congratulations to Lavelle for being the first Diamond in the rough and congrats my darling for your new amazing blog!!!

  14. August 11, 2009 7:26 am

    Great idea with supporting other blogees! LOVE IT ♥

  15. August 11, 2009 7:48 am

    Happy Birth(day) to Diamond in the rough. i already can see this will be a fantastic blog!

  16. August 11, 2009 2:31 pm

    cant wait to read more x

Trackbacks

  1. Hurrah! « A Chick Named Hermia

Leave a Reply

