Skip to content

…it becomes a part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does

August 12, 2009

The Chronicles of Narmia is the novel that inspires me and evoked my imagination the most when I was growing up.

I first came across Narnia series when I was around nine and The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe was given to me as a birthday gift from a family friend.

After a couple minutes of reading, I was enthralled with the magic and wonder of the book.

I remember bringing it to the dinner table and trying to read it during the meal. My mother was not too enthused with the idea and immediately told me to put the book away. So I being the brilliant nine-year-old, tried to hide it on my lap under the table. Unfortunately, that did not work either: somehow they noticed that my face was facing my lap.

Obviously, after I read about the wardrobe, I quickly rushed over to my parent’s closet, pushed away the copious amounts of heavy jackets and reached my hand towards the wall. I will not lie: a rush of disappointment hit me as my hand did not extend into a world of its own magic and instead, stopped at the wall.

After I finished reading The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, I patiently nagged at my mother, till she brought me to the Library to get The Horse and His Boy.

Awaiting me was another action packed adventure with Peter, Susan, Lucy, Edmund and of course myself, because the way my novel went I was a Pevensie as well.

The time I spent reading The Chronicles of Narnia series were my most favourite and imaginative days of reading, and days I long to go back to.

As Kathleen Kelly said, in You’ve Got Mail, “when you read a book as a child, it becomes a part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does”

What you read when you are a child, shapes who you are today!

—Guest post by Ali in Wonderland

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 10:19 am

    Oh, I adore this book (and the tv series and cartoon film) and that quote is perfect!

  2. August 12, 2009 10:58 am

    We were discussing this in my writing class on Monday, and I found it hilarious that she had no idea the story was based on the Bible.

  3. August 13, 2009 9:38 am

    I have a soft spot for this book because CS Lewis was a Belfast boy.

  4. dustjacket attic permalink
    August 13, 2009 9:17 pm

    I loved this post and the pictures were gorgeous, thank you.
    xxx

  5. August 17, 2009 3:08 pm

    It is so incredibly true. This has been my favourite book since I was a child. My mothers as well, she first read it to me when I was barely five, but since then I have read it myself every single year, always in winter when spring seems so far away. It has been a haven to me, a world I can escape back to and I place that has always belonged to me. The ability Lewis had to create a world that you could insert yourself into is incredible. I remember many a hotel where my sister and I, after rather bashful looks, would fling open the wardrobe door and probe the back hoping to find a secret world beyond the wall. I won’t lie that on occasion I still do this. My sister also has a soft spot for Lewis since both he and she are from Belfast(my sis is adopted). These books are one of the biggest reasons I went into English and why I still continue to write. If I could create a world for kids that made me feel like this one did and still does then that’s really all I could ever ask for. Thanks so much, really a great post.

Leave a Reply

