Skip to content

Walking up and down cobblestone streets with nothing but a map and our cameras…

September 14, 2009

When given a topic quote, ‘Just think of happy things and you heart will fly on wings…’ I automatically think of my favourite memories because they always make me happy!

I’m in Rome with Anthony again, walking up and down cobblestone streets with nothing but a map and our cameras. We spend all day exploring the city, seeing all the famous monuments and trying to get some good shots. We meet locals and eat the authentic food. We realize that we’ve been walking around all day and that day is quickly turning into evening. During our adventure, we didn’t notice that the sky had gradually been getting cloudier. We are next to the Fontana di Trevi and all of a sudden it starts pouring like a scene out of a movie. We have no umbrella so we shove our cameras under our shirts and start runnng through the narrow streets trying to navigate our way back to the hotel through sheets of rain. We are laughing the entire way back because the whole thing is unreal. We take pictures once we get back to the hotel to document what had just happened.

It’s raining and I end up not having to work. So I spend the morning reading in bed with a hot cup of tea. Then I wind up having a movie marathon all day, while I’m bundled up on the living room couch under a mountain of blankets. I leave the windows open a crack so that I can feel the cool breeze and smell the wet ground outside. I end the day reading my book by the fireplace, and then head to bed and fall asleep to the sound of rain on the roof.

I am at a beautiful restaurant having an amazing anniversary dinner with Anthony. We enjoy conversation over appetizers and drinks. Our entrees are brought out and both of our meals are delicious. After all the food we somehow have room for dessert and they bring it out for us – it’s so pretty I have to take a picture of it…and we find out that it tastes just as good as it looks. Once we have finished, we leave the restaurant and walk down to the beach and just stand on the shore and watch the moon dance on the water and listen to the waves crashing

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dustjacket attic permalink
    September 14, 2009 12:52 pm

    I love the way this is written, just simple and beautiful. I was quite moved.

    The photo’s are gorgeous, and yes that dessert looks divine.
    xoxo

  2. September 14, 2009 7:03 pm

    Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

