Skip to content

Never

October 7, 2009

The pressure of being a guest blogger is unreal. I have been trying to think for the last five days about what I should blog on. when I get on my blog, I post random events with the knowledge that it’s my blog and no one is expecting anything really important out of me. just me being me. me telling you what song I love that day, or what lyric really touched me. maybe a few updates on my babes and how they are all doing. but for this, I mean, seriously? it is much more than that! I seriously felt so blessed as I read the email from darling Sara telling me I’ve been picked to be a guest blogger. WHAT? me?! REALLY?! how could I turn this opportunity down? of course I couldn’t turn it down and had to think of something absolutely fantastic to wow all of you into reading my little blog baby. I mean this is quite the opportunity to let other viewers, who may have never seen my blog, to get a feel for what they would be getting themselves into if they dared to jump on the ohmissyme blog train! I guess I will do my very darndest to show you what I have to offer and hopefully, one day, you’ll fall in love with my blog. I hope :] I would love to get to know you better.

As for the topic of this month, what school didn’t teach me.. I must take a moment and laugh. ha.. what DID school teach me? I’ll give you a brief history of my high school experience and maybe you can understand why I say this. I grew up in the same area of Utah basically my whole life. I had all the same friends who had all the same interests and beliefs as myself. during my ninth grade year [which is still junior high or middle school in Utah] my parents shot me with the news we were going to be moving. By the time school was starting, I was about fifteen miles from my old house and had my first day of school at the rival high school. I felt so uncomfortable as I walked down the halls of this strange building were I felt I didn’t belong. I missed my old life, friends and comfort. As time went on I made friends and enjoyed the first year of school. By my junior year I was rarely there. I hated being anywhere near my high school. I had a few girlfriends that I kept close and other than that, I was the girl who walked up and down the halls with her ipod in her ears and her phone in her hand. I was too busy to talk to anyone else and had too much going on outside of school to worry about the drama that filled the school. the day I graduated was a day of liberation! I was finally free of the bondage that damned school held me with.

A few things I know is that school will never give you the honest opinion on your life and what you need out of it. It will never be there to give you words of encouragement as you start your new job or sign your soul away as you purchase a house. It will never be there to cry with you when your first love breaks your heart or give you the money you need to pay off that victoria secret credit card debt you got yourself into it. It will never show you what true friendship means and it will never give you the experiences you need to relate with others. It will never be there to cure your first hangover or sneak you into your first bar under-age. School won’t teach you when it’s time to walk away. It won’t teach you to be unique, or different. It won’t speak to you in ways other things can. It won’t ever be there when you need it to be. It will never be there to enjoy the euphoria you feel at your favourite bands concert or tell you what to do the first time you kiss that boy who gives you butterflies to the point you can’t even eat! It won’t be able to listen when you need to vent about how crazy your mom is making you or how you are scared out of your mind because you [or your significant other] are[is] pregnant and have no clue what you are going to do. It will never teach you to truly live your life to the fullest and enjoy the little things.

I have learned that my most important life lessons were learned by actually going out and LIVING my life. I have done things I said I would never do. I have accomplished things I never thought possible. I fell in love and had my heart broken. I have lost money, friends and myself at times. I have been in debt, got out of it and built a savings account that I am currently still working on. I have disappointed not only myself but close family and friends. i have said things that i didn’t mean and i have tried things i didn’t like. I have experienced the best of life and the worst. and one thing that I love, is that at the end of the day, I can look back on my life and say oh ya, I did that. I succeeded. I failed. I learned. I grew.

I realized that I was being someone that I thought everyone wanted me to be. When that finally struck me I threw my hands in the air and said, “enough!” and from that day on I have been, what I feel, is the most real me that I could be. I make goals, have dreams and am well on my way to being the successful girl I know I can be. I pride myself on my ability to learn and I feel the best way to learn is to do, try, invest, discover and challenge what is thought to be the right thing to do. Figure out what your ticks and tocks are and GO WITH IT! Nothing is better than being around someone who truly is happy and loves themselves. They won’t steal your thunder, put you down or suck your energy. They will only want to make you be a better person, uplift and help you succeed in anything and everything you do.

A quote I found a while back that has always stuck with me is “I’ve never quite believed that one chance is all I get” Anne Tyler. And you know what? This is totally true. You never get just one chance in life. People make mistakes, change and even surprise themselves. Don’t ever let anyone make you think you don’t deserve the best out of life. Because you do. And you’ll get it if you keep up the attitude that makes you the person people love to be around.

I am who I am today from what I’ve done with my life. Where I’ve travelled, jobs I’ve had, family and friends that have come, gone and even the ones who have stuck around. You’ll never know what you are capable of until you reach outside of your boundaries and try something new. I did by trying this blog thing two years ago and now look where I am. I have met some of the most amazing women, and men, by doing this and I feel like we are the most dearest of friends. I hope that I didn’t bore you too much with my little speech on what I feel school never did or could teach you. I hope you have a wonderful day and remember how fandamntastic you really are. much love – missy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 11:36 am

    you would make me cry wouldn’t you!! either im a big ball of emotions today or that was the sweetest thing ive read in a while 🙂 im so excited you did this post! yayy!

  2. October 7, 2009 11:41 am

    I could read this a million times and learn a new thing every time!

  3. or-so-i-feel permalink
    October 7, 2009 3:28 pm

    i just sent a comment over to your blog…
    this is just beautifully written
    xoxo

  4. October 7, 2009 4:42 pm

    you girls are too sweet to me. thank you!! it means a lot.

  5. dustjacket attic permalink
    October 10, 2009 1:05 am

    Wow what a post, thank you so much for sharing with us.
    xxx

Trackbacks

  1. Gather Around and Meet…Missy « Diamond in the Rough's Blog

Leave a Reply

