Skip to content

Highschool isn’t a musical

October 14, 2009

I have mixed feelings about school. In elementary school, I learned the basics about writing (which I love) and mathematics (which I’m horrible at). I was also teased daily for being too emotional, a torture which made me feel there was something missing in me.

Then came high school, where I learned to fit in. I became part of the clubs and the plays and it made me realize how much I wanted to be a teacher (and I’m hoping to go to teacher’s college). I found amazing friends and learned things through them and my experiences with them. But on top of that, it made me realize how much we don’t learn in school itself.

So, you see, these are the steps to discovering who you really are …
If only there was a class like that!

In English class, teachers attempted to teach us proper grammar and the meaning of symbolism. But they never taught us what a boy TRULY meant when he said “it’s not you, it’s me.”

In Science class, we learned about protons and how electricity works. But they never taught us how to deal with that electric feeling you get when you hold someone’s hand for the first time, or why your palms get all sweaty after a few minutes. I wish they taught us about all the hormones that you get between the ages of 14-18.

In Math class, I struggled with angles of elevation and equations. But they never taught us that adding more clothes to your wardrobe means subtracting from your wallet; nor did they ever teach us the benefits of resisting that perfect – and expensive – clothing item. Instead, they made us focus on which train would arrive at the station first (HELLO? they have boards with information on that).

In History class, I learned about the Kings and Queens, and all the downfalls in between. And although they taught us that we can learn from our past, they never taught us that it’s worth it to concentrate on the present rather than to dwell on love lost and other mishaps from yesteryear.

In school, there was never a How To Do Laundry course; we learn that from the people around us (or from tons of experimenting at the laundromat).

In school, there was never a How To Be YOU course. We were forced to know what our careers were going to be in grade ten; but they never gave us advice on how to ask someone to prom. We were forced to change in the locker room before gym class; but they never taught us the meaning of self-confidence, or how to be comfortable in our skin instead of hiding from the other girls and changing in a stall.

All that is learned from daily life, from the experiences around you. School teaches you what they think you ought to KNOW; but it never taught me who I’m going to BE. That, unfortunately, you have to learn for yourself; but fortunately, you’re never graded on it.

I just thought this bear was cute!

Thank you so much ladies for giving me a guest spot on this blog, you’re all amazing! đŸ™‚

Nikolett

4 Comments leave one →
  1. theroughdiamonds permalink*
    October 14, 2009 11:57 pm

    LOVED THIS!!

  2. October 15, 2009 2:04 am

    this was awesome nikolett!

  3. October 15, 2009 11:42 am

    this was such a fab post!!

    every bit hearwarming as the introduction assured to be!

Trackbacks

  1. everyone gather round and meet…Nikolett! « Diamond in the Rough's Blog

Leave a Reply

