Skip to content

what school hasn’t taught me…

October 21, 2009

 
  I’ve spent many hours asking myself “What hasn’t school taught me?” It’s an odd thing really, because back in school I was a very quiet girl who pretty much accepted everything I was told to do. I did my homework and I did my papers and I smiled the whole way through. I had never really questioned anything, and now I’m seeing that as a possible fault. I was very shy in school. Up until college I lived in a little bubble of friends, doing little bubble things in my little bubbly world. My quietness allowed me to be a good student, but did not allow me to grow socially and emotionally. I had my family and my circle, and that’s where I stayed. Now I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with this – because in reality, we all know of worse situations that may/may not take place in school. I had a peaceful school career. But it wasn’t necessarily a fun one. Of course it had it’s moments, but it wasn’t until too late that I realized that I was missing out on the great people around me.

 School also never taught me that life would let me down sometimes. I did an assignment, handed it in, got whichever grade was the grade I deserved. My teachers were just and kind and I am thankful for that; but at the same time – school never really offered me any disappointment. Only real life can teach that people will sometimes let you down, things will sometimes let you down. Not everyone is exactly trustworthy while some people are completely genuine. In failing to teach this it failed to show me that even though disappointment comes from time to time, the good will come again. Good faith can be renewed and re-deserved – but not without warrant.

 School, of course, also failed to teach me the fun things. The things that everyone should know. Like drink a bottle of water before you go to bed if you’ve been drinking to avoid a hangover. (Thanks for that gem, college!) Or don’t stay up until three in the morning watching Lost on Hulu if you have something to do early the next day. You might be kind of tired! There are countless bits and pieces that school could not have possibly covered, which makes life all that much more beautiful. What school has failed to teach me – that my friends will always be there by my side, that my family will be my rock, that sticking to a certain time for bed (even though that next episode of Lost looks SO stinkin’ good!) will be beneficial the next day, life has more than made up for. And it’s these little lessons that make living the best school of all. And why blogging about it is so much fun!

jaime
14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 9:35 pm

    i love love that picture. very creative!

  2. October 21, 2009 9:40 pm

    mmm love jaime! she is one of my fav bloggy buddies.

    jaime lady, i love how you worded this. “What school has failed to teach me…” love love love it. it puts such a twist on it. :] you are a fabulous writer my love!!

  3. October 22, 2009 1:01 am

    What a wonderful post (and pic!), thank you!
    Loving this website 🙂
    School may be important, but you’re right…it doesn’t teach you a lot of the things in life of REAL importance. That’s all part of our individual adventures, and it’s what makes life so interesting and unique.
    “These little adventures make living the best school of all” – perfect!
    Thanks for the blog, and have a lovely day 😀

    xxx

  4. October 22, 2009 1:29 am

    I completely agree. Although I have learned much disappointment in school. Taking hard core science classes have taught me disappointment. I would consider myself a fairly good student. I study instead of hanging out with my friends and I don’t really have friends I’ve met through college. School doesn’t teach you much about socializing or how to deal. And I am really loving the picture!

  5. October 22, 2009 8:59 am

    so true. school doesn’t always teach us life lessons. but that’s what’s so great, formal education helps us learn how to learn, how to think, how to deal with deadlines, and hopefully we can apply then when life hits us with a doozy. which is pretty much unavoidable. love the post. thanks for another great diamond!

  6. October 24, 2009 6:10 pm

    Lovely blog, Jamie! Loved the pictures and the look and feel 🙂

  7. October 26, 2009 1:44 am

    love, love, looooove Jaime 🙂

  8. October 26, 2009 3:03 am

    Thank you all so so much for the sweet comments! They mean the world to me 🙂

  9. October 27, 2009 1:17 am

    i LOVE this post!

    ehx oh

    t

  10. November 3, 2009 1:47 am

    Great post! Life has lots more in store to teach you, coming from a relatively old bat, so get your seat belt on!

    Christina
    Fabulous Finds Gal

  11. kate permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:18 am

    i think one of the most important things i will try and pass on to my children is that school is very important for giving you an education and fabulous friends who will be there for you throughout your life, providing you treat them right. however, the ‘bubble’ you describe is so accurate! i was always one of the top pupils at my school, did all my work, handed it in on time, got A grades. this pampered me into believing i was clever and everything would go well when i left school, but no one ever teaches you about ‘real-life’. or the fact that you don’t need to be good at everything to succeed, often it is better to excel in the subjects that you are really passionate about, because these will often be the things you pursue when you leave. if you’re not great a maths, it doesn’t matter, you just need to be able to add, subract etc to get along in life, you do not need to know that x=y+a/2 etc unless you want to pursue rocket science or something. i spent so much time being ‘good’ across the board that i didn’t know who i was, or what i was actually passionate about. it’s taken nearly ten years since leaving school to even begin to figure that out.
    i’m rambling now, but just wanted to say thanks for this marvellous post, it really sums up how i feel! x

  12. November 6, 2009 9:39 am

    Amazing post, same sentiments here. I wish you the best of luck and a smooth journey through life although mind is BLOODY rugged 😛

  13. November 15, 2009 4:40 pm

    Love the picture, it’s very creative and goes perfectly with the article 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. introducing…jaime! « Diamond in the Rough's Blog

Leave a Reply

