Skip to content

Gather round and meet… Molly!

January 4, 2010

Blog: My name is Yeh

Blogger: Molly

Location: New York

What we like about her: Molly has a fantastic sense of humour and her blog is so much fun to read.

Wow, she sounds great… tell me more: She also lives in New York, is incredibly creative and loves food which gives a great variety to her posts.

Lightning Round: the place where we ask THE hard-hitting, important life questions that you all need and want to know…

{What made you start your blog?}
I’ve always kept journals. Since I first read Amelia’s Notebook in the second grade, there hasn’t been a time in my life when I didn’t keep a journal. I write about daily happenings and people and ideas and adventures and stuff… and it’s sort of silly though because I always write as if I’m writing for an audience, but I never let anybody read them! I guess there was sort of this idea in the back of my mind that I’ll once upon a time bury all of my journals and have somebody a zillion years in the future read them. But, I mean, I’d rather have quicker satisfaction than that. So I would say it is the desire to have people read about my adventures paired with the discovery of The English Muse and the Rockstar Diaries and Nico Muhly’s blog , {also add one terrible creative growth stunting relationship that had just ended}, and there you have it: the birth of Mister Blog!

{Where do you get your inspiration from?}
I like to think that I lead an exciting life, but at the same time, I think it is actually the idea of a blog that inspires me to do things (as opposed to the things I do or see being inspiration to blog). What I mean is, since the birth of Mister Blog, I’ve been more inclined to try new things for the sake of a good post. Someone will stick some gross looking concoction in front of my face and say, “eat this!” And whereas six months ago I would have looked at them as if they were absolutely nuts, these days I rather think, “Well if this tastes like shit, it will surely make a good blog post…” Or. I’ll be sitting in some weird bizarre social situation (imagine, my latest where I somehow found myself at an Upper East Side Christmas party full of what I imagine were former fraternity brothers and sorority sistas (now in their late twenties) dressed in Santa hats and not much else…) and the only reason it doesn’t completely suck is because I’ll be looking to find some hilarious way to write about it. This usually makes the whole situation way more amusing.
Granted, those posts usually don’t make the final cut because of my two rules for my blog. Those are:
1. No sad things
2. No bad words.
Except for sometimes.But I also love writing about food, specifically mustard and cheese (and the ever-famous mustard cheese).

{Muffins or cupcakes?}
Ok, so my school is literally within a ten-block radius of Crumbs, Buttercup Bake Shop, Magnolia Bakery… and a few blocks further is Kyotofu… I am spoiled rotten in cupcakes. And they’re all delicious (especially the red velvet at Crumbs). But, if I must be honest, what I really want to do right now more than anything is to march in to my school’s cafeteria, rip off the top of a corn muffin, eat it, and then throw away the bottom. Is that SO lame?!

{If you could have one superpower, which would you choose?}
Is a British accent considered a superpower?

{How do you take your tea?}
Accompanied by a three-tiered plate of sandwiches, scones, and sweets at Alice’s Tea Cup with mum when she visits me in New York.

A huge apology to Molly who was great at getting me her answers and post to me in time – its my fault that this didn’t get posted in December – I forgot that although I was taking a break from my blog, I wasn’t taking one from Diamonds.

However its not the dates that matter but the guest blogger and her blog – so check out Molly’s fantastic post below and definitely check out her fantastic blog! I promise you won’t be dissapointed!

Rhianne xxx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 4:15 pm

    yay! thank you so much rhianne!! xoxo

  2. January 4, 2010 5:38 pm

    awwwww, she’s cute! i’ll go check out her blog!

  3. January 6, 2010 8:43 pm

    i love molly’s blog! thanks for featuring her 🙂

  4. January 8, 2010 5:43 pm

    I love this blog! I’m such a huge fan of all us small-time bloggers who have such beautiful things to say and show, especially My Name Is Yeh. Thanks for all the features!

  5. January 14, 2010 6:01 pm

    Great post & interview… it’s always refreshing to visit new blogs! 🙂 Mon Mode Blog

  6. February 2, 2010 10:31 am

    love her blog!

    ♥ Hannah

    ((LONDON–ROSE.BLOGSPOT.COM))

    xx

Leave a Reply

